Well attended AGM – click to read notes and Chair’s report!

Click on ‘Chairman’s Report AGM 2011’ tab above to read Chair Iain Muir’s round-up of a busy year’s activities: the work of  Local Development Officers Linda and Peter and the Directors, Nick Clooney, Steve Husband, Ann Macleod (Ali Beag), Anne Macleod, Ian Macleod, Iain Muir, Phil Shaughnessy, Rich Williams, Julia Campbell and Ben Walton and other members of the community giving of time and skills.  The ‘Notes from 2011 AGMtab will give you the detail of all the topics discussed at the AGM.

Brave New Future for Old Hydroponicum?

Business /workshop units AT LAST for Coigach? … and affordable housing possibilities? … and MORE?

The Coigach community now has the chance to buy the old Achiltibuie Hydroponicum building together with the surrounding three acres of land (from road to shore) to use for community benefit.

This is as a result of the CCDC registering an interest in the site under the Land Reform Act on behalf of the community.

To proceed with the purchase, the CCDC must produce a feasibility study and business plan and undertake a community ballot soon (watch this space!), but before embarking on these steps we want to show residents of Coigach what currently happens in the building and hear views and ideas about what you’d like to see happening there in the future.

Please come along to the Hydroponicum on  Tuesday 28th June at either 4pm or 7pm to inspire or be inspired.

Click on ‘Old Hydroponicum’ tab above for latest news and background.

Coigach Community Survey – still time to fill it in!

Every household in Coigach will have received a Coigach Community Survey.    If you have already filled it in and returned it thank you!    If not, please do.   What we are told in the questionnaires will help us to know what people in Coigach want.

The Development Company set the last three questions in the survey:    What are the developments or changes you would like to see in Coigach?  What are the best and worst things about living in Coigach?  What measures could improve local incomes?

If you have mislaid yours or didn’t receive one, please let Linda or Peter know and we will get another one to you with an SAE – replies are anonymous.   Thank you!

We hope to have the results early next year, and will post them up here as soon as we have them!   Thanks 🙂

LDOs open for business!!

‘What do you want for Coigach?’  Linda and Peter ask. We have now started as Development Officers for the CCDC.  It is a full time post which we are job-sharing.  Our remit is to promote and support Coigach, taking forward ideas and projects from the community.  Linda Macleod new LDO.
Lots of ideas have already been voiced through the ‘Have Your Say’ days, so we’ve got a busy year ahead pursuing those, but we’re always keen to hear more ideas –  big, small or in between, long-term, short-term, new or old. 

This is the first time that we has had a dedicated resource like this – just for Coigach – so please help us to make it as productive as we can!

A survey will be coming through your letter box at the beginning of December.  This is a Highlands and Islands Enterprise survey but it will give us some useful information and we were able to add a few questions at the end. So please,  please fill it in when it arrives!   Thanks in advance.

We will be at the Hall as many Wednesdays as we can.

You can contact us by email on CoigachLDO@hotmail.co.uk or by telephone,

Linda on 622 372 or 0750 398 2320,

Peter on 622 444  or 0750 394 6512

or failing that … you know where we live!

Many thanks, Peter and Linda.

Directors elected at inaugural AGM

The following were duly elected at a very well attended (44 members plus others) inaugural AGM in the Community Hall this evening:

Anne (Ali Beag) Macleod, Anne (Nurse) Macleod, Iain Muir, Ian (P.O.) Macleod, Linda Macleod, Nick Clooney, Phil Shaughnessy, Richard (Tanera) Williams, Steve Husband.

Both Alison Hitchings and Iseabail Muir withdrew their nominations before the ballot due to the weight of other commitments.

Congratulations to the new Directors, thanks to Andy Mackay, Ullapool,  for Chairing the ballot and announcing the results; also to Marilyn Mackenzie, Zoe Price and Louise Mackenzie for counting the votes, and Annie Sinclair for organising teas during the count.

Click on the Minutes tab at the top of the page for the full Minute of the meeting – as soon as it becomes available.